Release debut album Turn It On!
Via Feel It/Cool Death Records

Listen HERE

Share visual for single ‘Talk About It’

Watch HERE


Photo Credit: Izzie Austin | Download

L-R: Justin Tawil (Bass), Fergus Sinclair (Guitar), Adam Johnstone (Guitar),
Alanna Oliver (Vocals), Dave Johnstone (Drums)

Support for Romero:

“a blazing, boisterous LP that exudes carefree fun, a safe bet for windows-down hangs all summer” Pitchfork

“[Romero].. are about to make a name for themselves worldwide”NME 100

“Romero’s power-pop anthemics and heavy metal riffs take their cues from Thin Lizzy and, for a more recent name, Sheer Mag. This is a great thing. The world needs more straight up fun bands”The FADER

“a punchy return with an impeccable chorus”CLASH

“an absolute must-hear for fans of bands like Sheer Mag, Free Energy, Blondie, Thin Lizzy, and the Exploding Hearts.”Stereogum

“If you’re not on board with Romero by now then get with it.”So Young


Melbourne’s power pop group Romero have released their debut album Turn It On! through Cool Death/Feel It Records.

An exhilarating burst of first class power-pop, Turn It On! is a memorable party, steeped in twist-like dancing, deep and meaningful chats with strangers, air-shredding in the middle of the dancefloor, lover’s tiffs and wrong decisions culminating in a prophetic realisation that these indeed are ‘the days’.

Listen to Turn It On! HERE

Visuals for the  butterflies-inducing opener ‘Talk About It’ accompany the release, directed by Becky Boehme and the band members. The video depicts the streets of Melbourne by night, as Alanna Oliver pleads through a payphone. Of the song she states “… it is simply written about a conversation that happens over and over with another, that never has a positive outcome and is not worth your time anymore.”

Watch the video for ‘Talk About It’ HERE

As a body of work Turn It On! refuses to keep the foot off the pedal with its air-pounding anthems of relatability via Oliver’s shining vocal delivery. Mastered by Mikey Young (Total Control, Eddy Current Suppression Ring) and engineered by Andrew ‘Idge’ Hehir at Soundpark Studios in Northcote, the sharp production catapults the duelling yet complimentary guitar-play to the very front. Meanwhile nothing is lost on the unique, intertwined rhythm and STAX RECORDS-like bass grooves. Thematically, the record deals with endlessly restarting, mulling over the unsaid, resisting controlling forces in a deteriorating relationship, and the emotional strain of uncertainty. The see-sawing experience of life mirrors the sonic and emotive shifts of Turn It On! to offer a fluid sense of home, hope and pure optimism for what’s on the other side of this spell.

Romero was identified as one to watch in the underbelly circles of mail-order punk, selling out multiple pressings of their debut double-A side Honey / Neapolitan in 2019. Their independently released 2020 follow up single ‘Troublemaker” landed them placement in NME 100 and airplay on triple j, KEXP and NPR. The hotly anticipated announcement of Turn It On! drew support internationally from the likes of CLASH, DIY, Pitchfork, FADER and Stereogum. Having teamed up with some of the last bastions of DIY punk, Cool Death & Feel It Records, Romero’s debut stands alongside cherished modern classics by Low Life, Tyrannamen, Sweeping Promises and POWER.


Download album artwork here

Romero – Turn It On!


1. Talk About It
2. Happy Hour
3. Honey
4. Crossing Lines
5. Turn It On!
6. Halfway Out The Door
7. Troublemaker
8. Petals
9. Neapolitan
10. White Dress
11. Things They Don’t Tell You

Follow Romero: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Youtube

For more information, please contact [email protected]

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button